Parliament of Great Britain

Parliament of Great Britain

Playing 1/5
  • Parliament structure explained

    YouTube 01:48
  • 5 facts about UK parliament - BBC News

    YouTube 02:57
  • Zelensky calls for more help in address to U.K. parliament

    YouTube 02:04
  • Political blooper: MP's Scottish accent baffles British parliamentarian

    YouTube 01:03
  • Ukraine Pres. Zelenskyy addresses UK parliament

    YouTube 02:37

The Parliament of Great Britain was formed in 1707 following the ratification of the Acts of Union by both the Parliament of England and the Parliament of Scotland. The Acts created a new unified Kingdom of Great Britain and dissolved the separate English and Scottish parliaments in favour of a single parliament, located in the former home of the English parliament in the Palace of Westminster, near the City of London. This lasted nearly a century, until the Acts of Union 1800 merged the separate British and Irish Parliaments into a single Parliament of the United Kingdom with effect from 1 January 1801.

Discover in context

This site is not available in the landscape mode.
Please rotate your phone or install our app.