State or territory of Australia

State or territory of Australia

Playing 1/5
  • Australia Geography/Australia Country Song

    YouTube 03:29
  • Australia - Geography, States & Territories | Countries of the World

    YouTube 03:41
  • What is the difference between an Australian territory and a state?

    YouTube 00:31
  • Every Australian State or Territory Capital

    YouTube 03:28
  • Australian State & Territory Flags

    YouTube 03:01

Australia is a federation of six states, together with ten federal territories. The Australian mainland consists of five of the six federated states and three of the federal territories. The state of Tasmania is an island about 200 kilometres (120 mi) south of the mainland. The remaining seven territories are classified for some purposes as "external" territories. Aside from the Australian Antarctic Territory, which is Australia's claim to part of Antarctica, Australia is the world's sixth-largest country by total area.

Discover in context

This site is not available in the landscape mode.
Please rotate your phone or install our app.