Acts of Union 1707

Acts of Union 1707

Playing 1/5
  • Act of Union 1707 | How was the United Kingdom of Great Britain formed? | 3 min watch

    YouTube 02:34
  • 22nd July 1706: Terms of the Acts of Union 1707 agreed

    YouTube 02:35
  • How Scotland Joined Great Britain

    YouTube 02:32
  • Stock footage: Articles and Act of Union with Scotland 1706-1707

    YouTube 03:07
  • Acts of Union 1707

    YouTube 01:29

The Acts of Union were two Acts of Parliament: the Union with Scotland Act 1706 passed by the Parliament of England, and the Union with England Act passed in 1707 by the Parliament of Scotland. They put into effect the terms of the Treaty of Union that had been agreed on 22 July 1706, following negotiation between commissioners representing the parliaments of the two countries. By the two Acts, the Kingdom of England and the Kingdom of Scotland—which at the time were separate states with separate legislatures, but with the same monarch—were, in the words of the Treaty, "United into One Kingdom by the Name of Great Britain".

Discover in context

This site is not available in the landscape mode.
Please rotate your phone or install our app.