Playing 1/5
  • Australia: Country or Continent?

    YouTube 05:17
  • Australia: A Continent Adrift | Full Documentary

    YouTube 50:42
  • Australia Continent, 14 Countries.

    YouTube 03:56
  • All about Australia for Kids | Learn about the Australian continent and country

    YouTube 08:51
  • Why is Greenland an Island and Australia a Continent?

    YouTube 04:37

The continent of Australia, sometimes known in technical contexts by the names Sahul, Australinea or Meganesia to distinguish it from the country of Australia, consists of the land masses which sit on Australia's continental shelf. This would include mainland Australia, Tasmania, and the island of New Guinea. Situated in the geographical region of Oceania, it is the smallest of the seven traditional continents in the English conception.

Discover in context

This site is not available in the landscape mode.
Please rotate your phone or install our app.