Australian Academy of Science

Australian Academy of Science

Playing 1/5
  • Celebrating Science: the year in review

    YouTube 03:31
  • Fields Medal

    YouTube 01:14
  • IPCC climate change report

    YouTube 02:27
  • World's biggest bee

    YouTube 01:35
  • Australian Academy of Science

    YouTube 02:03

The Australian Academy of Science was founded in 1954 by a group of distinguished Australians, including Australian Fellows of the Royal Society of London. The first president was Sir Mark Oliphant. The Academy is modelled after the Royal Society and operates under a Royal Charter; as such, it is an independent body, but it has government endorsement. The Academy Secretariat is in Canberra, at the Shine Dome.

Discover in context

This site is not available in the landscape mode.
Please rotate your phone or install our app.