Bancroft Prize

Bancroft Prize

Playing 1/5
  • Lisa Brooks PhD Bancroft Prize Winner

    YouTube 00:46
  • Historian Nancy Tomes Wins Bancroft Prize

    YouTube 01:34
  • Ari Kelman on Winning 2014 Bancroft Prize

    YouTube 02:23
  • Warrior Nation Wins Caroline Bancroft History Prize

    YouTube 00:44
  • Newzoids - Forrest Trump

    YouTube 01:14

The Bancroft Prize is awarded each year by the trustees of Columbia University for books about diplomacy or the history of the Americas. It was established in 1948 by a bequest from Frederic Bancroft. The prize has been generally considered to be among the most prestigious awards in the field of American history writing and comes with a $10,000 stipend. Seventeen winners had their work supported by the National Endowment for the Humanities, and 16 winners were also recipients of the Pulitzer Prize for History.

Discover in context

This site is not available in the landscape mode.
Please rotate your phone or install our app.