1959 NCAA Division I Baseball Tournament

1959 NCAA Division I Baseball Tournament

Playing 1/5
  • Rossville's 1959 State Championship baseball team gets rings 60 years later

    YouTube 02:15
  • 1959 Fred Parrow Baseball Oswego

    YouTube 02:24
  • OSU Baseball 1959 Throwback Jersey Announcement

    YouTube 00:09
  • NCAA 1939

    YouTube 00:43
  • OSU Hall of Honor - Dick Soergel

    YouTube 01:30

The 1959 NCAA University Division Baseball Tournament was played at the end of the 1959 NCAA University Division baseball season to determine the national champion of college baseball. The tournament concluded with eight teams competing in the College World Series, a double-elimination tournament in its thirteenth year. Eight regional districts sent representatives to the College World Series with preliminary rounds within each district serving to determine each representative. These events would later become known as regionals. Each district had its own format for selecting teams, resulting in 22 teams participating in the tournament at the conclusion of their regular season, and in some cases, after a conference tournament. The College World Series was held in Omaha, NE from June 12 to June 18. The thirteenth tournament's champion was Oklahoma State, coached by Toby Greene. The Most Outstanding Player was Jim Dobson of Oklahoma State.

Discover in context

This site is not available in the landscape mode.
Please rotate your phone or install our app.